Penny Lane, Director/Producer

Penny Lane has been making award-winning documentaries and essay films since 2002. Her films have screened at Rotterdam, AFI FEST, The Media That Matters Film Festival, Rooftop Films, Big Sky Documentary Film Festival, MoMA’s Documentary Fortnight and many other venues.

She has been awarded grants from Cinereach, TFI Documentary Fund, LEF Foundation, NYSCA, Experimental Television Center, IFP and the Puffin Foundation. OUR NIXON is her first feature documentary, for which she was awarded several grants and a residency at Yaddo. She is a Creative Capital grantee and was named one of Filmmaker Magazine’s “25 New Faces of Independent Film” in 2012. Penny teaches video and media art at Colgate University.

And yes, that is her real name.


Brian L. Frye, Producer

Brian L. Frye is a filmmaker, writer, and professor of law. His films explore relationships between history, society, and cinema through archival and amateur images.

Brian’s films have been shown by The Whitney Museum, New York Film Festival, Pacific Film Archive, New York Underground Film Festival, San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, The Warhol Museum, Media City and Images Festival. His films are in the permanent collection of The Whitney Museum. His writing on film has appeared in October, The New Republic, Film Comment and the Village Voice. A Professor of Law at the University of Kentucky, his legal scholarship concerns interactions between the law and the arts, focusing on issues relating to nonprofit organizations and intellectual property. Brian is a Creative Capital grantee and was named one of Filmmaker Magazine’s “25 New Faces of Independent Film” in 2012.


Our Nixon was made in association with:

logo-pilot logo-impact-partners

With support from:


Directed by: Penny Lane

Produced by: Brian L. Frye, Penny Lane

Edited by: Francisco Bello 

Executive Producers: Dan CoganJenny RaskinLouis Venezia & Rebecca Ritchie Brower

Associate Producers: David Armillei, William Beutler,

Scott Bush, Elias Savada, Palmer Stilwell Taipale 

Original Music: Hrishikesh Hirway

Supervising Sound Editor & Re-Recording Mixer: Tom Paul 

Sound FX Editors: Andrea Bella, Michael Feuser

Dialogue Editor: Eric Milano

Archival Research: Rosemary Rotondi

Archival Film Scans: Kinetta Inc.

Online Edit, Color and Title Design: Ricart & Company

Online Assistant Editor: Conrad Ostwald

Assistant Editors: Kat Hunt, Alison S.M. Kobayashi

Extra Special Thanks: Ryan Pettigrew

IFP PMD Labs Trainee: Anya Talis

Legal Representation: Loeb & Loeb, LLP

Distribution Adviser, North America:
Josh Braun, Submarine Entertainment

International Sales:
Peter Jäger, Autlook Filmsales GmbH

Special Thanks: Milton Adamou, Christopher Allen, David Amsden, Craig Baldwin, Carl Bernstein, Bill Brand, Sandy & Fred Brewer, John Buckman, Patrick Ciccone, Jim de Sève, Jefferson Erck, Penelope Falk, Mike & Robyn Frye, Tim Geraghty, Leah Giblin, Steve Greene, Ryan Harrington, Joseph Johnson, Shikha Joseph, Ruth Ann Harnisch, Elisabeth Holm, Jason Kliot, Adella Ladjevardi, Alain Letourneau, Rajwant Mangat, Maria Marewski, Catherine Mayer, Shannon McLachlan, Andrea Meditch, John Mhiripiri, Pam Minty, Timothy Naftali, Dave O’Gorman, Fiona Otway, Alexander Reid, Robert Salyer, Toby Shimin, Josh Solondz, Andreea Stefanescu, Dwight Swanson, Will Sweeney, K. A. Taipale, Milton Tabbott, Rhonda Vigeant, Rose Vincelli-Gustine, Jay Walker, Jeremy Yaches, Katrina Zebrowski.

Thank You to Impact Partners and its following investors:

Brook & Shawn Byers, Steven Cohen, Chicken & Egg Pictures, Compton Foundation, Peggy & Yogen Dalal, Ian Darling, Embrey Family Foundation, Juliette Feeney-Timsit & Caroleen Feeney, Diana Barrett for The Fledgling Fund, Patricia Lambrecht, Michael J. Levinthal, Dan Lynch, Debbie McLeod & Jay Sears, Gib & Susan Myers, Kevin & Donna Gruneich, Joan Platt & Hillary Margolis, William S. Price, Beth Sackler, Regina Kulik Scully, Elizabeth & Margo King, John & Michael Steiner, Jim & Susan Swartz, Katrina vanden Heuvel, Wadsworth & Wadsworth, and Jamie Wolf.