The Miami Herald




The Los Angeles Times


The Baltimore Sun



“Weirdly charming.”

Pop Matters

“[Un]comfortably human.”

The Globe & Mail

“A sly essay film.”

The Village Voice

“This ingenious documentary honors Nixon’s peculiar place in the American psyche.”

The New York Times

“Surprising and artistically keen…eerie and beautiful.”

The Washington Post

“A closer look…than we’ve ever seen before.”


Our Nixon [review],” The New Yorker, David Denby, 09/09/13
Our Nixon [review],” Montreal Gazette, Bill Brownstein, 09/06/13
Our Nixon: Critic’s Pick [review],” Yahoo Movies, Thelma Adams, 09/05/13
Dick Flick,” ArtForum, J. Hoberman, 09/01/2013
Penny Lane on Kickstarter Early Days and Doc Trends She Hates,” TribecaFilm.com, Karen Kemmerle, 09/03/13
Our Nixon [review],” Paste Magazine, AnnLee Ellison, 09/02/13
All the King’s Men: Penny Lane on Our Nixon,” Filmmaker Magazine, Brandon Harris, 08/31/13
Our Nixon Offers a Rare Glimpse into a President’s Soul,” Twitch Film, Dylan Sharp, 8/30/13
Our Nixon [review],” Flixist, 08/30/13
Our Nixon Gives Inside View of 37th President,” The Takeaway, NPR, 08/30/13
No Concessions: Director Penny Lane Talks Our Nixon & the Lost Innocence of Home Movies,” The Fader, Michael Zelenko, 08/30/13
Through Us, It’s About Them: “Our Nixon” Director Penny Lane On Viewer Bias,” RogerEbert.com, Christopher Campbell, 08/30/13
Vulture’s Labor Day Weekend Movie Roundup,” Vulture.com, David Edelstein, 08/30/13
Our Nixon [review],” CriterionCast, Joshua Brunsting, 08/30/13
Our Nixon [review],” The Dissolve, Nathan Rabin, 08/29/13
Our Nixon [review],” The New York Daily News, 08/29/13
Our Nixon [review],” The Wall Street Journal, Steve Dollar, 08/29/13
Our Nixon [review],” RogerEbert.com, Matt Zoller Seitz, 08/30/13
Director Penny Lane on Her Illuminating New Documentary,” Black Book Magazine, Hillary Westin, 08/29/13
A New View of Nixon [on Super 8),” Examiner.com, Jenna Bond, 08/30/13
Penny Lane and the American President” Interview Magazine, Nathan Reese, 08/30/13
Our Nixon director: He was just a man,” Salon.com, Daniel D’Addario, 08/29/13
Our Nixon [review]” Epoch Times, Diana Barth, 08/28/13
Our Nixon [review],” The Village Voice, Stephanie Zacharek, 08/28/13
Interview: Penny Lane” Film.com, David Ehrlich, 08/28/13
Our Nixon [review],” Entertainment Weekly, 08/28/13
Our Nixon [review],” A/V Club, A.A. Dowd, 08/28/13
Documenting Presidents,” Sundance NOW, Anthony Kaufman, 08/28/13
Our Nixon Filmmakers Explain to Ben Stein How Filmmaking Works,” IndieWire, Bryce Renninger, 08/28/13
Our Nixon Producers Respond to Ben Stein,” The Daily Beast, 08/27/13
Interview: Penny Lane,” Bomblog, Anya Jaremko-Greenwold , 08/27/13
“Our Nixon [review – Critic’s Pick]” Time Out New York, Joshua Rothkopf, 08/21/13
Tricky Dick’s Flicks,” In These Times, Michael Atkinson, 08/08/13
Real Life, Revisited,” The New Republic, Stanley Kauffman, 08/02/13
The Critics Fall for Our Nixon,” Contact Music, Jack de Aguilar, 08/01/13
Our Nixon Takes Expansive Look at Presidency, Beyond Watergate,” The Washington Diplomat, Ky N. Nguyen, 08/01/13
Our Nixon: Audiotapes and home movies made into first-rate history,” The Baltimore Sun, 08/01/13
Home movies show many sides to president,” Miami Herald, Glenn Garvin, 08/01/13
The Men Who Shot Nixon,” Pop Matters, Cynthia Fuchs, 08/01/13
Super 8 and Watergate,” The Wall Street Journal, 07/25/13
Reuse, Repurpose, Recycle! [review]” Sundance NOW, 07/25/13
Our Nixon [review]” Tiny Mix Tapes blog, 07/24/13
You’re On White House Candid Camera,” The New York Times, 07/28/13
SIFF 2013 Opening Weekend Picks” The Sun Break, 05/17/2013
Behind the scenes with Richard Nixon in ‘Our Nixon’ at SIFF” The Examiner, Gillian Gaar 05/13/2013
Short Takes: Our Nixon” Mother Jones, Jaeah Lee 05/13/2013
A Look at the Young Talent on Display at This Year’s Rooftop Films Series” The Wall Street Journal, Steve Dollar 05/09/2013
Hot Docs 2013: Is This A New Golden Age?” Hammer to Nail, Robert Greene 05/09/2013
Our Nixon gets up close and sweaty with Tricky Dick” Straight.com, Doug Sarti 05/02/2013
Watergate’s Home Movies” The Dish, Andrew Sullivan 04/30/2013
Hot Docs Review: ‘Our Nixon” The Cinemablographer 04/29/2013
Penny Lane on humanizing Richard Nixon The Globe and Mail, Liam Lacey 04/26/2013
Film Thursday: Hot Docs Edition” Toronto Standard, Scott MacDonald 04/25/2013
CNN Films Snaps Up Richard Nixon Documentary” The Hollywood Reporter, Marisa Guthrie 04/24/2013
POTUS in FOCUS: OUR NIXON” Fandor, Susan Gerhard 03/29/2013
Remixin’ Nixon” Lou Lumenick, The New York Post 03/29/2013
Fair Use and the FBI: How Filmmakers Uncovered White House Super 8 Movies Without Going to Jail” Oakley Anderson-Moore, No Film School 03/28/2013
Penny Lane Connects the Dots Into a Tender ‘Our Nixon‘” Brian Brooks, Film Society of Lincoln Center 03/28/2013
New Nixon Tapes: Home Movies” David Jackson, USA Today 03/27/2013
Nixon documentary focuses on the other secret White House tapes: Home movies” Holly Bailey, Yahoo News 03/27/2013
Rear-Ended: New Directors/New Films” Howard Feinstein, Filmmaker Magazine 03/26/2013
SXSW ’13 Review: Desensationalizing History in the Otherwise Sensational ‘Our Nixon’” Stephen Saito, The Moveable Fest 03/25/2013
New Directors/New Films Festival Shows the Future” A.O. Scott, The New York Times 03/25/2013
New Directors/New Films 2013” Film Forward, Kent Turner, 03/25/2013
SXSW ’13: Mike S. Ryan’s Wrap-up” Mike S. Ryan, Hammer to Nail 03/22/2013
South by Southwest 2013 | Wrap-up” Ben Kenigsberg, Time Out Chicago 03/21/2013
The World’s Riches: New Directors/New Films” Scott Foundas, The Village Voice 03/20/2013
Our Nixon [review]” Variety 02/05/13
Everyday People- The Home Movies of New Directors/ New Films 2013” Anthony Kaufman, Sundance Now Blog 03/20/2013
5 Films To Watch From The 2013 New Directors/New Films Series” Eric Kohn, Indie Wire 03/19/2013
SXSW 2013: Docs in Brief” Basil Tsiokos, What Not to Doc, 03/19/2013
New Directors/New Films 2013: Our Nixon [capsule review]” Joshua Rothkopf, Time Out New York 03/19/2013
Our Nixon” Tomas Hachard, Slant Magazine 03/17/2013
DAILY BUZZ: SXSW EPISODE 7” Eugene Hernandez podcast, Film Society of Lincoln Center blog, 03/16/2013
Our Nixon: Peek behind the curtain of the White House” Austin Chronicle 03/15/2013
Our Nixon Outtakes” Genevieve Yue, Film Comment 03/07/2013
Shakespeare to Napster: The 2013 SXSW Film Festival Raids the Pop-Culture Closet” Graeme McMillan, TIME 03/06/2013
Found-Footage Nixon Documentary Will Conclude New Directors/New Films Series” Dave Itzkoff, ArtsBeat, New York Times 02/22/13
In Rotterdam, A Strong Crop of American Indies” Filmmaker Magazine 01/30/13
Notes on a scandal” Ben Walters, Daily Tiger 01/28/13
Nixon White House Home Movies” NBC Nightly News 11/10/12
Nixon Home Movies to be Screened” BBC World News 10/29/12
Generation Next” Entertainment Weekly, Newsday 09/14/12
25 New Faces of Independent Film” Filmmaker Magazine, Summer 2012
The Other Nixon Tapes” Paul LaRocco, Newsday 01/27/12
Nixon at Home, Kissinger at the Beach” Nicolas Rapold, Wall Street Journal 01/23/12
Nixon Home Movies Get Wider Screening” Patrick Gavin, Politico 05/05/11
Interview: Penny Lane & Brian Frye” Dwight Swanson, Home & Amateur 04/05/11
Our Nixon’ Documentary sheds new light on Tricky Dick” Daniel Bush, The Brooklyn Downtown Star 03/22/11
Nixon, as they saw him” Richard Brody, The Front Row Blog / The New Yorker 03/11/11